Follow me on Twitter RSS FEED

Concierto - Jim Hall (1975)

Posted in

"Guitarist Jim Hall is the sort of musician who displays such technical expertise, imaginative conception, and elegance of line and phrase that almost any recording of his is worth hearing. Still, Concierto ranks among the best albums of his superb catalog. For starters, the personnel here is a jazz lover's dream come true. Paul Desmond (saxophone), Chet Baker (trumpet), Roland Hanna (piano), Ron Carter (bass), and Steve Gadd (drums) are on board, creating -- along with Hall -- one of the highest profile lineups ever put to tape. Yet Concierto is not about star power and showboating. As subtle, nuanced, and considered as any of Hall's output, the ensemble playing here demonstrates great group sensitivity and interplay, giving precedence to mood and atmosphere over powerhouse soloing. Conductor and arranger Don Sebesky evinces a chamber ambience from the sextet on "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To," the smoky "The Answer Is Yes," and the Hall centerpiece "Concierto de Aranjuez."

1. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
2. Two's Blues
3. The Answer Is Yes
4. Concierto de Arenjuez
5. Rock Skippin'
6. Unfinished Business
7. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To (alt. take)
8. The Answer Is Yes (alt. take)
9. Rock Skippin (alt. take)

Jim Hall (g), Chet Baker (tr), Paul Desmond (as), Roland Hanna (p), Ron Carter (b), Steve Gadd (dr)